PIQF Quilt Show

Last Sunday I took our guild’s bus trip to the Pacific International Quilt Festival.   It was a fabulous show with many exquisitely made quilts, wall hangings and wearable art. As usual I was totally overwhelmed with the sheer size of the exhibit and the huge number of vendors (“150 consuming over 300 booths”).  If you have ever been to a show of this size, you know how short one day can be!  I only got to go through the show once. There were 417 quits and 39 garments in the competition plus the special exhibitions. That amounted to nearly 1000 quilts and displays. I “only” took 138 photos.  sometimes I barely looked at the quilts except for framing the shot. And sometimes I had to stare in awe at the workmanship or the subject matter.  It was an excellent and inspiring show.  Here are a couple of photos for your enjoyment.  Who knows, perhaps I will be in next year’s show.  The thought has crossed my mind.  I have many ideas for quilts that I would like to make.  Time is the problem.  I am using my skills on other peoples100_0046100_0035 projects, which I love to do.  I get so much satisfaction from doing a great job and making people happy.  When is it my turn?  I will have to make an effort to carve out time from my day so I will have some of my own great work to make myself happy!100_0126 As you can see, I have only posted photos of appliqued quilts of a pictorial nature.  There were many quilts that had a nature or wildlife theme.  I really get a kick out of these.  They were probably the most humorous of the lot.  The end! (Please respect the copyrights of others and don’t copy these quilts)

Leave a Reply

