The Latest

Hello everyone.  I have been swamped so that’s why you haven’t heard from me recently.  That’s good, right?  Yes and no.  I have so many great ideas for art that I want to make that have to take a back seat to making a living.  At least that’s how it is right now.  Ideally, I would be making a living from my art, well, that is, really what I do anyway.  I use my artistic background in the work that I do for others.  Still, I would just like to be able to do what I want to do.  Don’t we all! Enough said about that.

I have a few photos of my latest work, including one 4″ x 6″ quilt made for the Berkeley, CA annual library show.  No quilt is bigger than 12″ x 12″ and they are housed in cases which makes them very accessible for close-up viewing.  The other two quilts are a Court House Steps log cabin variation made out of what appears to be lining fabrics and a the finished Half Log Cabin quilt I posted a picture of earlier.  I was very pleased with how these quilts turned out.  I was afraid that the one with the lining would be difficult to quilt, but it was surprisingly easy.  I quilted the “logs” of the other one on my friend’s long arm machine with variegated light blue King Tut thread.  When I got it home, I realized that I didn’t like the light blue on the darker fabrics (even though I did like it when I laid the thread on the blocks to audition it!).  So, what took about 75 minutes to quilt, took 2 days to pick out and 3 or 4 hours to re-quilt on my bernina.  Of course I didn’t charge for my error.  Anyway, I figured that if I didn’t like it, my client wouldn’t either.

Conflict: Taking Sides

Court House Steps

Half Log Cabin

Detail Half Log Cabin

2 Responses to “The Latest”

  1. Melissa Says:

    Wonderful quilts, great to see such variety!

    • madelincwolf Says:

      Thank you, Melissa. I enjoy the variety of the quilts that my clients bring me. Of course, I do wish that more of what I post were my own.

Leave a Reply

