Baking Bread

 

Wednesday my daughter and I made pizza from scratch.  Sorry, no pix as it is history!  Anyway, we had old packages of yeast  two of which we proofed before trying to bake with it.  Since I hate to throw anything away, I decided to make some baguettes.  I kept the dough in the fridge until yesterday and then made these.  I think a bit more salt would have given the bread more flavor.  Of course, that’s what butter is for.  Meanwhile, I began increasing the amount of sourdough starter so I can make sourdough bread on Saturday.  This starter came from the Cheese Board… it’s 35 years old!  When I told the guy who was cutting cheese for my other daughter that I had their cookbook and had made some of the recipes he asked me if I would like some!  Are you kidding?  “Yes!!”  I’m thrilled!  I have caught wild yeast to make my own starter ( an 11 day process) and let it get old without feeding it during my husband’s illness.  So, now I am going to be good to my starter (in the bowl under the kitchen towel) and feed it every month if I don’t make bread.  Have you ever made sourdough bread?  Success?  Dismal failure?  Please share your experience in a comment.  I’d love to hear about it!

 

9 Responses to “Baking Bread”

  1. I’ve never tried sourdough, but I always make my own pizza dough. It’s so much better than store bought and pretty easy. Sounds like a nice mom and daughter day.

    • madelincwolf Says:

      I have never bought dough, although I have been tempted. Trader Joe’s has it and The Cheese Board also sells theirs. That would be the one I would want to try. Their pizza is not your traditional sauce-and-gooey-cheese-type pizza. Corn Zuchini Pizza with Lime and Cilantro anyone?

  2. I’ve made my own bread mostly in the winter when it can prove quite quickly but never sourdough great bonding activity ….

    • madelincwolf Says:

      Thanks for stopping by. My daughter is 36, so if we haven’t bonded by now…! Just a touch of humor here. She is also a good cook which I have greatly appreciated during the difficult months just past.

  3. my hubby makes the bread in our home…really! And this is the same man that works 12-14 hour days! I just love how our home smells when it is baking….sigh….

  4. I have great memories of making bread. There is nothing like bread hot out of the oven, freshly sliced with butter. Now that is heaven. And I remember making pizza from scratch many years ago. What a wonderful thing to do. I can’t believe the Cheese Board is over 35 years old!

    • madelincwolf Says:

      Hi Luana! Thanks for the comment. I can’t believe it either. I think I am entering a baking phase. You should come over some day and we can bake bread together. I can also give you some starter if you want to try the sourdough bread making. I’ll be posting tomorrow sometime after the bread is out of the oven. I’m going to try my hand at making a GIF of some shots that my daughter took of me kneading dough.

      > Date: Sat, 11 Aug 2012 04:10:30 +0000 > To: phoebewolf5@hotmail.com >

  5. Sarah Huizenga Says:

    Yeast scares me! I have not had good success with it. Just last week though I heard a talk on growing your own yeast for making pizza crusts. He made it sound so easy. Maybe someday I will get up the courage to try it.

Leave a Reply

