Fabulous Friday Finds

Well, on the West coast it is still before midnight, therefore, I still have time to post my FFF’s!  Today’s offering is all about my love of paper and books.  People discard the most wonderful things.  A few weeks ago I came across these book plates. There was a huge box of several different kinds near the dumpster at my friend Anne’s studio.  I took what I thought was a lot, she took some.  When I brought them home I got the idea to make pads of paper for notes.  I used PVA glue thinly applied to the top edge of a clamped set of papers.  It worked!  I will also use some of the images for collage or ?, too.  I went back the next day to see if I could snag the rest, but they were gone.  The book about  Holman Hunt was found by Anne near the same dumpster.  She gave it to me!  What a sweet thing to do.  It has some beautiful color plates inside.  Before I alter it or cut it up, I feel compelled to read it.  I was taught to respect books.  Do you have trouble defacing, or cutting up books like I do?  I’ll just have to get over it!

One Response to “Fabulous Friday Finds”

  1. I used to have a BIG problem ripping books, having worked in a book shop (my dream job) I respected books. Until, I discovered altered books and I had to rip pages and stick pages together it was hard. Now I don’t feel so bad after all I am recycling ….

Leave a Reply

