Making Sourdough Bread

 

Yesterday I made sourdough bread.  I had my daughter take a few pictures because I wanted to try making a .GIF animation to show the kneading action.  I discovered that my very old copy of PS did not have animation capabilities.  Oh well.  Then I decided to drag and drop the photos instead of selecting and inserting each separately.  I wasn’t sure how gallery works, so I clicked on them individually anyway.  So, they are all stuck together.  There was a slideshow option; that might have been better.

This recipe has a two-step mixing process.  The flour water and salt are mixed first and left to rest 10 minutes.  Then the starter is added plus more flour if necessary. I think it is an odd way to mix it but I haven’t tried to mix it any other way.  Chicken, I guess.   I put the dough in the refrigerator the night before and took it out yesterday.  The rising took about 8 hours since the  dough had to warm up first.  The wonderful thing about sourdough is that you don’t add any other yeast.  I find it amazing that this works.  Rising times are definitely longer giving me plenty of time to do other things.  I love the smell of it baking and have to have some almost right away.  I let it cool about 10 minutes before cutting it because everyone knows that the bread police will get  me if I don’t!  Supposedly it can give you a tummy ache if you eat it hot right out of the oven. Pshaw, I say!

 

6 Responses to “Making Sourdough Bread”

  1. So love that you make your own bread looks gorgeous… Youv’e got to eat it hot it’s the best..

    • madelincwolf Says:

      Hi Viv, thanks for the compliment! I like the round loaves, but I think the next time I make it I will put it in a pan so I can have big slices!

  2. Sarah Huizenga Says:

    That bread looks so yummy! Sourdough is my favorite. Great job!

    • madelincwolf Says:

      Thanks Sarah! It really tastes good, almost an extra-sour flavor. Next time I think I will try making a bread with whole wheat flour in it.

  3. Nice images. The act of making bread is so therapeutic!

Leave a Reply

