Word for 2013

I usually have a word for the year by now.  There are so many good ones out there.  Last year’s was a twofer, a combo of 2011 and 2012: Fearless Action.  In retrospect, I guess they were appropriate.  I needed to be fearless to deal with  my husband’s illness and subsequent death and I needed to act, big time, to see that he got the care he needed.  To say that my reserves were drained would put it  mildly.  I needed and appreciated  all the support I received from family and friends.  Still, I wanted those words to be about making art, living my life.  So, now what?  It’s been 5 months of trying to normalize my life.  I need a really good word for this work!  The thought just struck me, why stop at one?  Maybe I need a different word every week!  So, here goes: RESTORE.

I need to restore order in my life.  If that means having regular hours, then I will set my alarm and actually get up!  I need to attend to the mental, emotional and physical clutter that sometimes paralyzes me.  I need to restore active art making that is so much of who I am.  And, I need to restore my physical being which makes everything I do possible.  Finally, in spite of wanting to just rattle on, I must have some restorative sleep; good night!

4 Responses to “Word for 2013”

  1. Love your choice Madelin. If you have the opportunity, try restorative yoga, sometimes called yoga nidra. Really helps me feel whole again when I’m feeling frazzled. I hope this year brings restoration and peace to your soul.

  2. A great word Madelin so many possibilities hope you continue to recover…

    • madelincwolf Says:

      Thanks! I hope that part of the restorative process this week includes whipping my computer into shape so I can edit photos again. I have a lot that I want to post!

Leave a Reply

